Grim Fandango Remastered

I have always been a sucker for a point and click adventure, and Grim Fandango was always a favorite. The Noir setting, the cheesy,  yet fantastic characters, great dialogue and a huge time-span made the game always feel so much bigger than it was. It was no surprise then that when it was remastered it made its way into my Steam library.

Fandango.jpg

I had forgotten most of the plot I must admit, there were vague memories of parts of it, wandering through a forest, conspiracies, job changes, but once the screen loaded up more of the game started to come back to me.

Launch trailer.jpg
Link to the Launch Trailer

The first puff Manny took of his cigarette, whilst waiting for me to decide what to do next gave me waves of happy nostalgia and I found myself once more getting lost down the dialogue rabbit hole and laughing all the way.

But then I hit year 2 in Rubacava, boy I had forgotten what a warren that place was. Where is the darn club?  How many times do I have to walk back and forth down these paths? How did I miss this place? What is through this door? I am not sure if this is supposed to be fun of frustrating.

Still though, I am having fun even when getting a little irritated and lost…but then I get to the forklift puzzle and frustration goes through the roof. No matter how much o try, even when I know what I have to do I can’t get the darn thing to work.

All of this reminds me,  I loved this game, hell I still do,  but it seems time has washed away the frustrations and left me with a rosey-tinted view. Heading back to the past can be great,  but we see it through a haze, our brain picks and chooses what we remember and sometimes revisiting things can was the pink stain off the glass. There will always be a part of me that loves these old games and loves to revisit them, but at the same time I will appreciate the things that new games bring to us and the things they have left out.

Now off to try and get this forklift puzzle to work…

Leave a Reply

